SHARE
URL:
Link

Sarkhan Vol | Magic: The Gathering

 

Formats Sarkhan Vol is Legal in

Block
Standard
Modern
Legacy
Vintage
Commander
 
 

Sets Sarkhan Vol is in

Edition
Price
In-Stock

14.95
0

16.95
0

 
 

Official Oracle Text for Sarkhan Vol

Card Name:
Sarkhan Vol
Casting Cost:
Type:
Planeswalker — Sarkhan

Card Text:
+1: Creatures you control get +1/+1 and gain haste until end of turn.
−2: Gain control of target creature until end of turn. Untap that creature. It gains haste until end of turn.
−6: Put five 4/4 red Dragon creature tokens with flying onto the battlefield.

Official Rulings for Sarkhan Vol

10/1/2008 : You may activate the first ability even if you control no creatures. Sarkhan Vol gains a loyalty counter, but the ability will have no effect.

10/1/2008 : Sarkhan Vol's first ability affects only creatures you control when that ability resolves.

10/1/2008 : You may target any creature with the second ability, not just a creature an opponent controls. If you target a creature you already control, you'll gain control of it (which will usually have no visible effect), it'll untap, and it'll gain haste until end of turn.

7/1/2013 : Planeswalkers are permanents. You can cast one at the time you could cast a sorcery. When your planeswalker spell resolves, it enters the battlefield under your control.

7/1/2013 : Planeswalkers are not creatures. Spells and abilities that affect creatures won’t affect them.

7/1/2013 : Planeswalkers have loyalty. A planeswalker enters the battlefield with a number of loyalty counters on it equal to the number printed in its lower right corner. Activating one of its abilities may cause it to gain or lose loyalty counters. Damage dealt to a planeswalker causes that many loyalty counters to be removed from it. If it has no loyalty counters on it, it’s put into its owner’s graveyard as a state-based action.

7/1/2013 : Planeswalkers each have a number of activated abilities called “loyalty abilities.” You can activate a loyalty ability of a planeswalker you control only at the time you could cast a sorcery and only if you haven’t activated one of that planeswalker’s loyalty abilities yet that turn.

7/1/2013 : The cost to activate a planeswalker’s loyalty ability is represented by a symbol with a number inside. Up-arrows contain positive numbers, such as “+1”; this means “Put one loyalty counter on this planeswalker.” Down-arrows contain negative numbers, such as “-7”; this means “Remove seven loyalty counters from this planeswalker.” A symbol with a “0” means “Put zero loyalty counters on this planeswalker.”

7/1/2013 : You can’t activate a planeswalker’s ability with a negative loyalty cost unless the planeswalker has at least that many loyalty counters on it.

7/1/2013 : Planeswalkers can’t attack (unless an effect turns the planeswalker into a creature). However, they can be attacked. Each of your attacking creatures can attack your opponent or a planeswalker that player controls. You say which as you declare attackers.

7/1/2013 : If your planeswalkers are being attacked, you can block the attackers as normal.

7/1/2013 : If a creature that’s attacking a planeswalker isn’t blocked, it’ll deal its combat damage to that planeswalker. Damage dealt to a planeswalker causes that many loyalty counters to be removed from it.

7/1/2013 : If a source you control would deal noncombat damage to an opponent, you may have that source deal that damage to a planeswalker that opponent controls instead. For example, although you can’t target a planeswalker with Shock, you can target your opponent with Shock, and then as Shock resolves, choose to have Shock deal its 2 damage to one of your opponent’s planeswalkers. (You can’t split up that damage between different players and/or planeswalkers.) If you have Shock deal its damage to a planeswalker, two loyalty counters are removed from it.

7/1/2013 : If a player controls two or more planeswalkers that share a planeswalker type, that player chooses one of them and the rest are put into their owners’ graveyards as a state-based action.

 
 

Comments on Sarkhan Vol

Feel free to post any comments or questions you have on Sarkhan Vol. Please be respectful of others. Any spam or trolling posts will be removed. Repeat offenders may be banned.