SHARE
URL:
Link

Nicol Bolas, Planeswalker | Magic: The Gathering

 

Formats Nicol Bolas, Planeswalker is Legal in

Block
Standard
Modern
Legacy
Vintage
Commander
 
 

Sets Nicol Bolas, Planeswalker is in

Edition
Price
In-Stock

8.95
0

8.95
0

8.95
0

 
 

Official Oracle Text for Nicol Bolas, Planeswalker

Card Name:
Nicol Bolas, Planeswalker
Casting Cost:
Type:
Planeswalker — Bolas

Card Text:
+3: Destroy target noncreature permanent.
−2: Gain control of target creature.
−9: Nicol Bolas, Planeswalker deals 7 damage to target player. That player discards seven cards, then sacrifices seven permanents.

Official Rulings for Nicol Bolas, Planeswalker

2/1/2009 : The control-change effect has no duration. It will last until the game ends or the affected creature leaves the battlefield. It may be superseded by a later control-change effect.

7/1/2012 : If the damage from Nicol Bolas's third ability is prevented or redirected, the rest of the effect will still happen. Specifically, the number of cards discarded and permanents sacrificed isn't tied to the amount of damage dealt.

7/1/2012 : For the third ability, if the player is an illegal target when the ability tries to resolve, the ability is countered and none of its effects will happen. No damage will be dealt, no cards will be discarded, and no permanents will be sacrificed.

7/1/2013 : Planeswalkers are permanents. You can cast one at the time you could cast a sorcery. When your planeswalker spell resolves, it enters the battlefield under your control.

7/1/2013 : Planeswalkers are not creatures. Spells and abilities that affect creatures won’t affect them.

7/1/2013 : Planeswalkers have loyalty. A planeswalker enters the battlefield with a number of loyalty counters on it equal to the number printed in its lower right corner. Activating one of its abilities may cause it to gain or lose loyalty counters. Damage dealt to a planeswalker causes that many loyalty counters to be removed from it. If it has no loyalty counters on it, it’s put into its owner’s graveyard as a state-based action.

7/1/2013 : Planeswalkers each have a number of activated abilities called “loyalty abilities.” You can activate a loyalty ability of a planeswalker you control only at the time you could cast a sorcery and only if you haven’t activated one of that planeswalker’s loyalty abilities yet that turn.

7/1/2013 : The cost to activate a planeswalker’s loyalty ability is represented by a symbol with a number inside. Up-arrows contain positive numbers, such as “+1”; this means “Put one loyalty counter on this planeswalker.” Down-arrows contain negative numbers, such as “-7”; this means “Remove seven loyalty counters from this planeswalker.” A symbol with a “0” means “Put zero loyalty counters on this planeswalker.”

7/1/2013 : You can’t activate a planeswalker’s ability with a negative loyalty cost unless the planeswalker has at least that many loyalty counters on it.

7/1/2013 : Planeswalkers can’t attack (unless an effect turns the planeswalker into a creature). However, they can be attacked. Each of your attacking creatures can attack your opponent or a planeswalker that player controls. You say which as you declare attackers.

7/1/2013 : If your planeswalkers are being attacked, you can block the attackers as normal.

7/1/2013 : If a creature that’s attacking a planeswalker isn’t blocked, it’ll deal its combat damage to that planeswalker. Damage dealt to a planeswalker causes that many loyalty counters to be removed from it.

7/1/2013 : If a source you control would deal noncombat damage to an opponent, you may have that source deal that damage to a planeswalker that opponent controls instead. For example, although you can’t target a planeswalker with Shock, you can target your opponent with Shock, and then as Shock resolves, choose to have Shock deal its 2 damage to one of your opponent’s planeswalkers. (You can’t split up that damage between different players and/or planeswalkers.) If you have Shock deal its damage to a planeswalker, two loyalty counters are removed from it.

7/1/2013 : If a player controls two or more planeswalkers that share a planeswalker type, that player chooses one of them and the rest are put into their owners’ graveyards as a state-based action.

 
 

Comments on Nicol Bolas, Planeswalker

Feel free to post any comments or questions you have on Nicol Bolas, Planeswalker. Please be respectful of others. Any spam or trolling posts will be removed. Repeat offenders may be banned.

Author: guest

Date: April 07, 2012

Comment:

I heard ol' Nicol Bolas is getting re-printed in M13. I better get one now.

Author: green's great warrior

Date: April 23, 2012

Comment:

ookaaay

Author: Darkartist

Date: June 14, 2012

Comment:

so, are the Nicol Bolas' from Ajani vs. Nicol Bolas allowed now, or only the Shards of Alara and M13 ones?

Author: PWLAdmin

Date: June 14, 2012

Comment:

Once M13 is released any previous Nicol Bolas, Planeswalker will be legal in the Standard Format (including ones from Ajani vs. Nicol Bolas).

Author: Calvin

Date: February 25, 2013

Comment:

I love the fact that you can get +3 loyalty to get rid of a permanent. Take away land enchantment of even a planeswalker. Totally the best planeswalker and maybe the est card ever.

Author: Nicol Bolas

Date: March 22, 2013

Comment:

Why am I A.K.A Nicol Bolas worth only less then 10 dollars?

Author: killer jack

Date: May 01, 2013

Comment:

i wouldnt be so sure about that.....

Author: TheAppleFanatic

Date: November 04, 2013

Comment:

That ability can take out a planeswalker? LOL!

Author: Name

Date: January 03, 2014

Comment:

All hail Nicolas Bolas god of discord

Author: Name

Date: January 03, 2014

Comment:

A planeswalker is technically counted as another player, not a permanent.

Author: PWLAdmin

Date: January 03, 2014

Comment:

A planeswalker counts as a permanent.

Source: https://www.wizards.com/magic/...