Mishra's War Machine | Magic: The Gathering
Formats Mishra's War Machine is Legal in
Official Oracle Text for Mishra's War Machine
At the beginning of your upkeep, Mishra's War Machine deals 3 damage to you unless you discard a card. If Mishra's War Machine deals damage to you this way, tap it.
Official Rulings for Mishra's War Machine
10/1/2008 : If a creature with banding attacks, it can team up with any number of other attacking creatures with banding (and up to one nonbanding creature) and attack as a unit called a "band." The band can be blocked by any creature that could block a single creature in the band. Blocking any creature in a band blocks the entire band. If a creature with banding is blocked, the attacking player chooses how the blockers' damage is assigned.
10/1/2008 : A maximum of one nonbanding creature can join an attacking band no matter how many creatures with banding are in it.
10/1/2008 : Creatures in the same band must all attack the same player or planeswalker.
10/1/2009 : If a creature in combat has banding, its controller assigns damage for creatures blocking or blocked by it. That player can ignore the damage assignment order when making this assignment.