SHARE
URL:
Link

Martial Law | Magic: The Gathering

 

Formats Martial Law is Legal in

Block
Standard
Modern
Legacy
Vintage
Commander
 
 

Sets Martial Law is in

Edition
Price
In-Stock

0.95
0

 
 

Official Oracle Text for Martial Law

Card Name:
Martial Law
Casting Cost:
Type:
Enchantment

Card Text:
At the beginning of your upkeep, detain target creature an opponent controls. (Until your next turn, that creature can't attack or block and its activated abilities can't be activated.)

Flavor Text:
"The good of society matters much more than the inconvenience of a few."
—Agmand Sarv, Azorius hussar

Official Rulings for Martial Law

4/15/2013 : Activated abilities include a colon and are written in the form “[cost]: [effect].” No one can activate any activated abilities, including mana abilities, of a detained permanent.

4/15/2013 : The static abilities of a detained permanent still apply. The triggered abilities of a detained permanent can still trigger.

4/15/2013 : If a creature is already attacking or blocking when it's detained, it won't be removed from combat. It will continue to attack or block.

4/15/2013 : If a permanent's activated ability is on the stack when that permanent is detained, the ability will be unaffected.

4/15/2013 : If a noncreature permanent is detained and later turns into a creature, it won't be able to attack or block.

4/15/2013 : When a player leaves a multiplayer game, any continuous effects with durations that last until that player's next turn or until a specific point in that turn will last until that turn would have begun. They neither expire immediately nor last indefinitely.

 
 

Comments on Martial Law

Feel free to post any comments or questions you have on Martial Law. Please be respectful of others. Any spam or trolling posts will be removed. Repeat offenders may be banned.