Eidolon of Countless Battles | Magic: The Gathering
Formats Eidolon of Countless Battles is Legal in
Official Oracle Text for Eidolon of Countless Battles
Eidolon of Countless Battles and enchanted creature each get +1/+1 for each creature you control and +1/+1 for each Aura you control.
Official Rulings for Eidolon of Countless Battles
9/15/2013 : On the stack, a spell with bestow is either a creature spell or an Aura spell. It’s never both, although it’s an enchantment spell in either case.
9/15/2013 : Unlike other Aura spells, an Aura spell with bestow isn’t countered if its target is illegal as it begins to resolve. Rather, the effect making it an Aura spell ends, it loses enchant creature, it returns to being an enchantment creature spell, and it resolves and enters the battlefield as an enchantment creature.
9/15/2013 : Unlike other Auras, an Aura with bestow isn’t put into its owner’s graveyard if it becomes unattached. Rather, the effect making it an Aura ends, it loses enchant creature, and it remains on the battlefield as an enchantment creature. It can attack (and its abilities can be activated, if it has any) on the turn it becomes unattached if it’s been under your control continuously, even as an Aura, since your most recent turn began.
9/15/2013 : If a permanent with bestow enters the battlefield by any method other than being cast, it will be an enchantment creature. You can’t choose to pay the bestow cost and have it become an Aura.
9/15/2013 : Auras attached to a creature don’t become tapped when the creature becomes tapped. Except in some rare cases, an Aura with bestow remains untapped when it becomes unattached and becomes a creature.
9/15/2013 : An Aura that becomes a creature is no longer put into its owner’s graveyard as a state-based action. Rather, it becomes unattached and remains on the battlefield as long as it’s a creature. While it’s a creature, it can’t be attached to another permanent or player. An Aura that’s not attached to a legal permanent or player as defined by its enchant ability and also isn’t a creature will be put into its owner’s graveyard as a state-based action.
2/1/2014 : Eidolon of Countless Battles’s last ability functions only on the battlefield. In other zones, it is a 0/0 enchantment creature card.
2/1/2014 : A permanent with bestow is either a creature or an Aura, not both (although it’s an enchantment either way). It will contribute just +1/+1 toward the bonus given by Eidolon of Countless Battles.