Ajani, Caller of the Pride | Magic: The Gathering


Formats Ajani, Caller of the Pride is Legal in


Sets Ajani, Caller of the Pride is in




Tokens Related to Ajani, Caller of the Pride






Official Oracle Text for Ajani, Caller of the Pride

Card Name:
Ajani, Caller of the Pride
Casting Cost:
Planeswalker — Ajani

Card Text:
+1: Put a +1/+1 counter on up to one target creature.
−3: Target creature gains flying and double strike until end of turn.
−8: Put X 2/2 white Cat creature tokens onto the battlefield, where X is your life total.

Official Rulings for Ajani, Caller of the Pride

7/1/2012 : You can activate the first ability without a target. You'll still put one loyalty counter on Ajani when you activate the ability.

7/1/2012 : The number of Cat tokens you put onto the battlefield is equal to your life total when the third ability resolves.

7/1/2013 : Planeswalkers are permanents. You can cast one at the time you could cast a sorcery. When your planeswalker spell resolves, it enters the battlefield under your control.

7/1/2013 : Planeswalkers are not creatures. Spells and abilities that affect creatures won’t affect them.

7/1/2013 : Planeswalkers have loyalty. A planeswalker enters the battlefield with a number of loyalty counters on it equal to the number printed in its lower right corner. Activating one of its abilities may cause it to gain or lose loyalty counters. Damage dealt to a planeswalker causes that many loyalty counters to be removed from it. If it has no loyalty counters on it, it’s put into its owner’s graveyard as a state-based action.

7/1/2013 : Planeswalkers each have a number of activated abilities called “loyalty abilities.” You can activate a loyalty ability of a planeswalker you control only at the time you could cast a sorcery and only if you haven’t activated one of that planeswalker’s loyalty abilities yet that turn.

7/1/2013 : The cost to activate a planeswalker’s loyalty ability is represented by a symbol with a number inside. Up-arrows contain positive numbers, such as “+1”; this means “Put one loyalty counter on this planeswalker.” Down-arrows contain negative numbers, such as “-7”; this means “Remove seven loyalty counters from this planeswalker.” A symbol with a “0” means “Put zero loyalty counters on this planeswalker.”

7/1/2013 : You can’t activate a planeswalker’s ability with a negative loyalty cost unless the planeswalker has at least that many loyalty counters on it.

7/1/2013 : Planeswalkers can’t attack (unless an effect turns the planeswalker into a creature). However, they can be attacked. Each of your attacking creatures can attack your opponent or a planeswalker that player controls. You say which as you declare attackers.

7/1/2013 : If your planeswalkers are being attacked, you can block the attackers as normal.

7/1/2013 : If a creature that’s attacking a planeswalker isn’t blocked, it’ll deal its combat damage to that planeswalker. Damage dealt to a planeswalker causes that many loyalty counters to be removed from it.

7/1/2013 : If a source you control would deal noncombat damage to an opponent, you may have that source deal that damage to a planeswalker that opponent controls instead. For example, although you can’t target a planeswalker with Shock, you can target your opponent with Shock, and then as Shock resolves, choose to have Shock deal its 2 damage to one of your opponent’s planeswalkers. (You can’t split up that damage between different players and/or planeswalkers.) If you have Shock deal its damage to a planeswalker, two loyalty counters are removed from it.

7/1/2013 : If a player controls two or more planeswalkers that share a planeswalker type, that player chooses one of them and the rest are put into their owners’ graveyards as a state-based action.


Comments on Ajani, Caller of the Pride

Feel free to post any comments or questions you have on Ajani, Caller of the Pride. Please be respectful of others. Any spam or trolling posts will be removed. Repeat offenders may be banned.

Author: Cainthesinner

Date: June 15, 2012


I livelive it ajani gas always been a bad a$$ and he is the first of the original 5 planeswaljer that has never disappointed me when they remade any of them Ajani I will own u!!!!!!

Author: Giant Piece of Awesome

Date: July 01, 2012



Author: SCF777

Date: February 13, 2013


i have 2 of these that i just dont use, could i sell it to you guys?

Author: PWLAdmin

Date: February 13, 2013


We do buy cards! Please contact us using the form on our contact page for an offer and further instructions. Thanks!

Author: Emrakul Empowered

Date: June 26, 2013



Author: gruulcool26

Date: August 20, 2013


is ok, domri is better

Author: Krissmiller

Date: November 26, 2013


I win so many games with this card it helps me so much